What I’ve been listening to this week…

The other day, my wife convinced me to watch Dragonheart with her. I’ll admit to you what I admitted to her at the time – I was fairly knackered that day and half expected to fall asleep within minutes of the film starting.

But that was not to be the case.

I had seen Dragonheart only once before in my life when I was very young, and yet, despite my tiredness, I found myself absolutely captivated by it and managed to stay awake for the entire film. And it wasn’t particularly due to the story, which – whilst reasonable – felt very similar to almost every other fantasy/medieval film that has been produced in the last few decades. It was due to the brilliant score composed by Randy Edelman.

That being the case, it will come as little surprise to you that I chose the main theme of Dragonheart for my What I’ve been listening to this week… segment. The swooping score is so majestic and captivating that I find it hard to imagine that it would fail to elicit an emotional response from anyone listening to it. Furthermore, I don’t think it would surprise anyone to know that this same score has been repeatedly used for many movie trailers ever since.

As a piece of music, it is simply awesome.

Enjoy.

 

What I’ve been listening to this week… is posted every Monday. To stay up-to-date with my latest posts, subscribe to my blog using the button below. 

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

