What I’ve been listening to this week…

This week, I was driving down the motorway (well, my wife was driving – I was enjoying it) when a song came on the radio that I hadn’t heard in years. In fact, when I was younger, I used to listen to this song fairly regularly and yet I never really appreciated the lyrics until quite recently.

For me it was about the sound – but the whole song is nothing short of awesome.

Bat Out of Hell from Meatloaf’s 1977 album (Bat Out of Hell) is a masterpiece of rock music. The album version is a ten-minute long epic rock fest that takes on a journey following a motorcyclist from a gritty, violence-ridden city street, who goes for a ride – speeding as fast as he can along the highway. But the song ends in tragedy as the motorcyclist mis-judges the corner of the road, crashes and dies whilst he watches his own heart beating through his chest.

Quite a morbid theme for a song – and yet it is pulled off with great skill and technical mastery. Everything about the song, from the representation of his beating heart from the bass guitar to the roaring of the guitar echoing the revving of the motorbike, is perfectly pieced together to create a song that is not only epic but toe-tappingly brilliant.

I’m not going to pretend that I am even capable of writing when I have this song playing in the background – it is far too distracting for that. But it is very rare that you find  a song that deals with something so horrific and tragic and yet is still a thoroughly enjoyable song…

And this is one of those rare occasions.

Now it’s your turn.

What do you make of Bat Out of Hell? Does it get your toes tapping? Or do you find it all a little bit too tragic?

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

And, as always, if you like what you’ve read and heard (and I would hope if you’ve read this far that you did), press that like button at the bottom of the post. Or, if you’re not a blogger, share it on Facebook, Twitter and whatever else you can think of.

Don’t agree with me? Didn’t like the post? Leave a comment down below and let me know why. Anyone can comment so don’t be shy.

And if you have a suggestion for something I might like to listen to next week? Leave your suggestion below.

Leave a Reply

