Knowing the Fate of my characters…

I’m a little bit sneaky in my stories – particularly in the Giles series. I’m in the process of planning the third Giles story and I’ve been thinking about it for a long time. So long, in fact, that some of the themes and story twists have managed to worm their way into The Bluebell Informant as I’ve been doing the final polishes on it – only subtly mind, but the references are there.

Is it important to the story? Not really.

Does it add anything? As a matter of fact, yes.

I don’t know about you, but I like to feel safe with my authors. I like to know that they have an overall plan for their characters – that their not just cracking a whip in whatever direction they please and hoping they’ll get a decent story out of it.

Those references are there to show people that I know where I’m taking my characters – that I know what fate has in store for them.

If people clock on to those references, then that’s just great. If not…?

Well, let’s just say I know they’re there. And those little nods to future books are what helps my stories come alive.

And I don’t think that’s a bad thing…

Leave a Reply

