What I’ve been listening to this week…

After my wedding back in May, my wife and I decided to take a short honeymoon to Disneyland, Paris. Now, for those of you who’ve read my work, you may think this a little odd in the light of the tone of most of my work but, in actual fact, my work is probably the only real outlet I have for any dark and gloomy thoughts. The rest of time I’m as bubbly and good humoured as anyone else…

But I digress.

During this trip to Disneyland, my wife became enamoured with one particular ride – a slow boat ride called Le Pay des Contes de Fees – or The Land of Fairy Tales in English. On this ride, the boat travels through a narrow channel, flanked on either side by miniature landscapes from several Disney films – Snow White and Seven Dwarfs, The Little Mermaid, Aladdin and such like.

For the most part, I recognised most of these scenes and what films they came from…

Except one.

The miniature I have in mind was not too dissimilar from the others. There was a collection of houses that formed a traditional Bavarian-type village (at least that’s what it reminded me of at any rate) and a large tower in the centre. But what struck me most of all was a dark-blue/purple winged beast that stood on the topmost tower, positioned in such a way that it looked ready to hurl something down to the ground.

And I didn’t recognise it at all. For the life of me, I just couldn’t place it.

It was only when I asked my wife what it was that everything suddenly became clear.

It had come from Fantasia – a film that, to my shame, I have not seen since I was very young. And the scene was from Night on Bald Mountain.

Apart from being included in FantasiaNight on Bald Mountain is a well known piece of music in its own right. Composed by Modest Mussorgsky, it is a fantastically dark piece of music that really lends itself to producing equally dark material.

So it probably will not surprise many of you that, having rediscovered this piece of music, it has been a top feature on my writing playlist in the last few weeks and is therefore this week’s honourable mention.

And, as with all the music I share that has some sort of film link, I have even found the actual clip from Fantasia for you all.

Enjoy

Leave a Reply

