Exciting Project Announcement

I’ve been a little quiet on the work front for a little while – for two main reasons.

  1. After the elation of finishing the latest drafts of The Bluebell Informant and The Court of Obsessions, I found that I had completely wiped myself out and needed to take a break from the world of Detective Sergeant Giles. The plan still is to do one (or maybe two) more drafts of The Bluebell Informant before moving on to editing The Court of Obsessions. At the same time, I will be starting work on the third Giles story, The Anonymous Jury, something that I am looking forward to with great anticipation – but not just yet.
  2. I have been working on another project that – finally – I can start talking about on this blog…

And this one has me very excited.

A few months back I was approached to apply for what I thought was a ghost writing job. The brief was quite simple – to produce a twelve-part serialised story.

A crime-mystery thriller.

Naturally, I was intrigued and applied for the position. A few days later, I found out I got the job and, to my complete and utter surprise, I was informed by my client that I was not only being paid for my work but the work would also be released in my own name…

At this point, I expected the brief to get a little more detailed and was fully expecting to spend the next few months working within quite tight and strict storylines. However, to my surprise yet again, I was told that outside of the name of the story, I was to be given relatively free reign.

The story itself had been started by another writer who, for one reason or another, had to drop out of the project. But even after that my client was still happy for me to take what I wanted out of the previously storyline. So – with my usual mixture of dark and brooding emotion – a set out to write the story, not entirely sure of where it would take me, but knowing – unlike most stories that I write – that it will definitely be published at the end of it all…

So, for the next few posts, I will be discussing this new and (previously unmentioned) project. The characters. The situations. My style of writing it…

Oh. And I almost forgot.

The name of this new project…

Murder Under My Nose

Stay tuned!

 

One thought on “Exciting Project Announcement”

Leave a Reply

