What I’ve been listening to this week…

If you haven’t guessed by now, the vast majority of the music I listen to when I’m writing tends to be very dark in nature. For the most part this is to help inspire my writing, which (in it’s own way) is quite dark and foreboding in its own right.

But that isn’t the only reason – generally speaking I find myself enjoying darker music and arrangements more than the traditional feel good stuff. It’s not because I have an inherently dark personality – although I can think of a variety of people who might disagree with that assessment – I just find gloomy music that deals with tragic events more engaging that a song about happiness and finding your one true love etc.

But, that being said, it’s not the be all and end all – as this week’s choice will demonstrate.

What I have been listening to this week may actually surprise those of you who have read my work because it seems, on the outset, to be the complete opposite of everything I find intriguing. It has a good beat, a feel-good vibe and some great catchy lyrics…

Mr Blue Sky by Electric Light Orchestra.

Whilst this song doesn’t necessarily lend itself to writing cold, dark thriller stories, it has been extremely comforting for me over the past few weeks. Something about it’s simplicity – the description of that most quintessential of British conversational topics; the weather – and the evolving (almost Beatlesque) arrangement just makes me smile every time I hear it.

How I ironic that I find myself writing this post on quite a gloomy, wet afternoon…

Oh well.

Time for Rugby practice!

Leave a Reply

