The Bluebell Informant Cover Design: Part 2

A week ago, I took my first few steps into the world of marketing.

The Bluebell Informant is close to being completed and is looking good for a late summer release and, as part of my marketing campaign, I am going to give a small insight into the stages I go through turning my novel into an eye catching book that people will want to pluck from the shelves.

Now, unlike many writers, I am a little bit ahead – mainly down to the fact that I have quite a good idea of what I want my front cover to look like. I also have the advantage that, whilst I am not the world’s greatest artist, I do have enough skill at being able to sketch what is going on in my head to be able to recreate how I think the cover should look.

In my last post on the subject, Part 1, I revealed the sketch that I drew for The Bluebell Informant to some generally favourable responses. Some of my colleagues even suggested that, armed with my sketch, I should start approaching cover designers to get it made properly – which I did eventually do, but only in so far as to enquire about the technical bits and bobs…

You see, whilst I have a clear idea in my head of how the cover could look, I have no idea whether the reality would be anywhere as good as I intend it to be.

I could find that the marvellous image I have in my head simply doesn’t look good in print. And, with that possibility in mind, I’m not about to go steaming up to a cover designer and pay good money for them to create it without having a fair idea in my own mind that it’s going to look good.

Thankfully, in addition to my minute artistic talents, I am competent enough on Photoshop to be able to make a basic attempt at turning my sketch into something more akin to the final product.

So I set about producing the cover image and this is what I came up with. I should point out at this stage that this is little more than a mood board image at the moment and will not reflect the final cover, but I think the elements are starting to come together.

What do you think?

TBI2

One thought on “The Bluebell Informant Cover Design: Part 2”

  1. Hi Nick. I think that the man should be placed a little more centrally…tho not sure where you envisage the title of the book going so I may be talking rubbish!! LOVE the bluebells and the trees. beautiful colours. Can’t wait to see the finished product. Lotsa xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

