Call for Beta Readers!

For me, 2016 has already been an exciting year.

I’ve met my 4-month-old nephew for the first time, and I may have introduced him to some music that my sister may not thank me for later on in life, and my dear mother has finally received recognition for hard work and dedication to young and disabled people with an MBE in the New Year’s Honours List. Needless to say, the whole family is chuffed.

And it has got me thinking about my goals in life – where I want to be by the time that 2017 rolls around.

I had already decided that I was going to publish my first DS Giles short novel, The Bluebell Informant, this year and I am getting married in May, which promises to be a bash to be remembered. But I hadn’t really thought beyond that – it was always really a case of ‘I’ll get on that later’.

And then later arrived… and I hadn’t really got any further.

That was until I read a short book by Tim Grahl, ‘Book Launch Blueprint: The Step-by-Step Guide to a Bestselling Launch‘ – and, particularly if you are a budding writer yourself, I recommend that you read it for it truly is an eye-opener.

In this book, Tim Grahl outlines his steps to launching a book which, in itself is quite a find for anyone writing nowadays. But what I took from it the most was a little comment he makes about setting targets for yourself. Without them, he suggests, you have no way of measuring success and, ironically enough, you are therefore far more likely to ‘fail’.

And I can see his point.

So I’m going to start 2016 the way I mean to go on.

I’m going to take those steps that I had always assumed I would have to do later.

And I’m going to need help. 

Which is what today’s post is all about.

This year I will be launching The Bluebell Informant. I have a good idea of how many copies I want to sell in the first month (but I will keep that under my hat for the moment) and I have a good idea of how to get there.

And my first step is to get people actually reading the thing.

I need some Beta readers – people who love crime fiction, who enjoy British based crime thrillers.

I need people who will be able to give me some short reviews that I can use to help promote my work and sort out any problems that may arise with the story (for there are bound to be at the very least a few).

People who will help me launch this book and join me on the roller-coaster ride that will follow.

If that sounds like you, then comment below or contact me through goodreads.com or my website. You’ll get a free, first look at The Bluebell Informant and be a part of getting this story out to as many people as possible.

It’s going to be a blast…

Leave a Reply

