And Then There Were None – Agatha Christie

In my last review, I mentioned that I recently devoured Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie with such relish and enjoyment that I moved straight on to another one of her works.

At the time when I was reading Death on the Nile, I read an article that said that And Then There Were None had been voted as Christie’s best story so, having enjoyed my first experience of her work so much, I felt compelled to buy and read through this one as well.

And I enjoyed every minute of it.

Set in a lone house on a small island, And Then There Were None, follows the story of ten people who have all been brought together on the same night for what are apparently completely different reasons. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. And, one by one, they begin to be picked off, with the only clues to who might be the murderer or, indeed, the next victim, being a silly rhyme and ten miniature soldiers left on the dining room table, which begin to vanish as each life is extinguished.

Before reading this story, I read a few reviews myself and was surprised by how many people didn’t like it. One of the main comments was that they found the twists and turns too hard to follow and ruined the experience for them.

I, myself, loved every minute of it. The story was nicely paced and I was so involved with the story that I was able to follow each change in the plot point as it came along.

The variety of characters, which is something that I have now come to expect from Christie’s work, are brilliantly crafted and plausible and the bleak location of the story leaves you with an uncomfortable feeling long after you finish reading.

And the ending…

Obviously I won’t go too much in to the ending, but what I will say is it is very bold and brave and, for me at least, a perfect conclusion to a perfect murder mystery.

If you read nothing else this year, read this story.

Leave a Reply

