Unexpected Developments…

Another quick one…

A few days, I entered by short story, ‘Dressed to Deceive’ into the Inkitt Fated Paradox competition. To start with, I did it just to see what sort of feedback I could get from writers and readers who I’ve had no prior connection with and, as such, I submitted a short story that I was expecting to get completely trashed by reviewers and wouldn’t do well at all…

To my surprise, this is really not the case. ‘Dressed to Deceive’ has received a flurry of five-star reviews in the past few days and a fair share of likes, which just goes to show that sometimes the work you think is less important can have just as much impact on the world as the stuff you poured your heart and soul into.

However, it has left me with a bit of a conundrum. Having entered the story with no illusions as to how well it may or may not do, I now find myself in the position where I actually want to win the competition. I’ve found the morale boost from expecting nothing and getting far more than I imagined absolutely intoxicating. It’s actually comparable to the first time I ever won a bet on a horse and the races and instantly realised how people can become addicted to gambling…

I’m not saying I’m addicted to writing competitions, but I certainly think I will be taking more punts like this in the future for no other reason than I feel better about my writing at this moment, having seen my story become quite successful in a short period of time, than the last few months where I have been diligently plugging away at the edit of my novella.

It just goes to show, no matter how important your main project is, you should always market your smaller projects to keep your morale up and your ego nicely massaged…

On that note, if you have a few minutes, please check out my story using the link below and like it using the little heart counter. Let’s see if I can take this story all the way….

http://www.inkitt.com/stories/15731

Thanks all!

For more reviews, news and stories from Nick, subscribe to his newsletter at

http://nick-tingley.wix.com/author#!subscribe/c1fr5

Leave a Reply

