Poetry Book Update: 1/5 and 1/10

So it has been over a week since I started the challenge and so far everything seems to be going well.

"The Dogs"So far I have four poems drafted, “Heading Off to War”, “The Dogs”, “Charge!” and “Generally Speaking”. Off these four poems, I have drawn illustrations for “Heading Off to War” and “The Dogs” and I am just getting ready to start the illustration for “Charge!” All in all, I’m feeling pretty chuffed with myself.

Some of you may be wondering why I’m making such a big deal of this. 

Very simply put, I am not a poet and drawing doesn’t come naturally to me. These are two things that I would never believe I could do in my wildest dreams. I particularly do not believe that I could ever write a poetry book, filled with my own illustrations, and publish it for other people to read. So that is precisely what I intend to do. 

This year is the centenary of the year the First World War started. In honour of all of those men who fought and I died, I am pushing myself out of my comfort zone and creating an ebook of war poetry. 

On 11th November of this year, I will have published an ebook of war poetry. Will I succeed or will I fail? 

Keep following over the next few months to find out…

 

Poems Drafted: 4/20

Illustrations Drafted: 2/20

Final Poems Completed: 0/20

Days Remaining: 106 Days

Leave a Reply

