Poetry Book Update: Overcoming my Fear of Drawing

Well I’m off to a reasonable start with my War Poetry Challenge.

For those who haven’t been following, I recently set myself the challenge of writing an ebook consisting of twenty poems and accompanying illustrations on the subject of World War One to commemorate the centenary of the war starting. 

Why is this a challenge?

Well, poetry and illustration drawing are two creative disciplines that I believe I am not particularly good at so I am attempting this challenge to prove a point. Even if you don’t think you’re particularly good at something, it doesn’t mean you can’t have a go. 

The Update

Heading off to WarMy first poem, “Heading off to War” has been written and is now waiting for me to redraft it. I’ve also had a crack at drawing an illustration for it. It took me the best part of five hours and a lot of staring at pictures of trains, but I have finally managed to beat my fear of drawing. A seasoned artist will probably look at this and think very little of it but, for a first attempt at creating a proper illustration to be published, I don’t think its too bad. 

I have also drafted my second poem, temporarily called “I Digress”. So far so good. 

 

Running Count:

Poems Drafted – 2/20

Illustrations Drafted – 1/20

Completed Poems with Illustrations – 0/20

Days Remaining – 112 

Leave a Reply

